Technology Information Center for Administrative Leadership

 

Sign In Help

What is a cookie?

  • A cookie is a small amount of data, which often includes an anonymous unique identifier, that is sent to your browser from a web site's computers and stored on your computer's hard drive.
  • Each web site can send its own cookie to your browser if your browser's preferences allow it, but (to protect your privacy) your browser only permits a web site to access the cookies it has already sent to you, not the cookies sent to you by other sites.

 

Choices about Cookies

  • You can configure your browser to accept all cookies, reject all cookies, or notify you when a cookie is set. (Each browser is different, so check the "Help" menu of your browser to learn how to change your cookie preferences.)
  • If you reject all cookies, you will not be able to log in to TICAL and get the benefits of state-specific information and other features of the TICAL web site.

 

TICAL's Practices Regarding Cookies

  • TICAL uses its own cookie to access your information when you "sign in," so that we can provide you with customized content, conduct research to improve TICAL's content and services, require you to re-enter your name and password after a certain period of time has elapsed to protect you against others accidentally accessing your account contents.

 

What does "Remember my ID on this computer" mean?

  • When you sign in using your name and password, your browser can "remember" this information. If you check the "Remember" box, you won't have to sign in each time you come back, although we may ask you to re-enter your information if you've been away from the computer for a while. For your convenience, we can keep your ID active in your browser until you sign out explicitly.

 

Should I check it or not?

  • If you use a shared computer (in a library, Internet cafe, university, airport, or other common area) do not check the "Remember My ID" checkbox.
  • If you are accessing the site from someone else's computer, click "Log Out" when you leave their computer.